Millbrae Historical Society
Dedicated to the celebration and preservation of the rich history of Millbrae

Millbrae History Museum

Vintage cars sure look great in front of the Millbrae Museum!

In 1895, the Spring Valley Water Company (predecessor of  the San Francisco Water Department) constructed a house for its resident manager near the present-day intersection of Broadway and Magnolia Avenue in Millbrae.  In the early 1980's, the building was slated for demolition in order to make way for the Green Hills Retirement Center.

The Millbrae Historical Society stepped up to the plate and saved the 90 year-old house by rasing the funds to have it moved one-half mile through downtown Millbrae to a City-owned parcel across from the Millbrae Library.  The house was then meticulously restored to its original as-built condition and decorated with period furnishings and historical exhibits. The Society's volunteers worked together with a cadre of businesses that donated labor and materials to perform the restoration work.  This wonderful building is now home to the Society's Millbrae History Museum.

Inside the History Museum are a set of well-organized displays depicting the history of Millbrae and the surrounding area.  Numerous photos, artifacts, period furniture, and historical documents are stored within the 1895-built house.  Volunteer docents are on-hand each Saturday from 12:00 noon to 4:00 pm when the Museum is open to the public.  The friendly docents are happy to explain the exhibits and answer questions about the Museum and local history.

For the future, the Millbrae Historical Society plans to build a 3,500 square foot display pavilion adjacent to the existing Museum.  The new building will be designed to complement the original house and will provide a location to display the Society's larger holdings, including a 19th-century surrey, a horse-drawn carriage, and a 1932 Millbrae Fire Truck.  If you would like to become a member of the Millbrae Historical Society or would like to make a monetary contribution or donate an historical artifact, please call the Museum staff at (650) 692-5786.